Free shipping on orders over £51 (UK mainland only)

FAQ: What are malts and why are they important?

In a nutshell, malts are one of the key ingredients to making beer, along with water, yeast and hops. They provide all the sugars that the yeast eat to produce the miracle that is beer!

The beer brewing industry is dominated by barley-based malts, which unfortunately for us contains gluten, making most beers on the market today unsafe for coeliacs and those intolerant to gluten.

Reading the ingredients label of most gluten-free beers today will reveal that malted-barley is often featured despite the fact that barley includes gluten. When producing gluten-free beers this way, enzymes are used to pre-digests the gluten and break down the protein into undetectable fragments. However, it's unclear if these fragments are safe for coeliacs and those with intolerances.

As an alternative to this method, we malt our own naturally-gluten free grains and produce delicious malts for use in gluten-free beer brewing that are safe for both coeliacs and anyone following a gluten-free diet.